Exploding Moment

Around 2 a.m. I layed in bed, sound asleep in a silent hotel room. The only sound in the room was the dull humming noise coming from the air conditioner. I was suddenly woken up by my mother. The room was still nearly pitch black and there was a cool breeze coming in from under my blankets. Her voice was shaky and she shook me frantically. I woke up startled and confused with a pounding heart. I recognized immediately that something was terribly wrong. My mother told us in a fearful, demanding voice to gather all of our clothes quickly because we needed to leave as soon as possible. A thousand thoughts rushed through my head thinking of what could possibly be wrong. I rushed around the room anxiously with an overwhelming feeling of worry in my stomach. I grabbed everything as fast as I could and threw it into my large, black duffle bag that was never packed neatly to begin with. When we got into the car, I buckled and sat nervously in the cold leather seats waiting to find out what was going on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *